Turner Prize 2014

The Turner Prize is an extremely prestigious annual award named after the artist J. Turner, it was first held in 1984 and is affiliated with the Tate galleries, being held every year at the Tate Britain. It is presented solely to British visual artists, specifically under the age of 50 and has become the United Kingdom’s most publicised art award. It covers all media areas of art, but has had criticism in the past.
This year the artists Duncan Campbell, Ciara Phillips, James Richards and Tris Vonna-Michell were nominated for the award, with Duncan Campbell winning. His piece was a work of film, reflecting on African art which includes a dance sequence. I found this piece to be very complex and I watched the clips I could actually find of it repeatedly which helped me to appreciate how ambitious the work was.
Film is definitely an area of art that interests me and I would like to push further however I find gaining confidence in a new discipline of art very difficult, so it will be a long progression for me.

Luke Roberts Art

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s